Cucuron and Vaugines (Vaucluse) village site

You are here : Welcome > Discover > History of Cucuron

History of CUCURON

At the heart of the Luberon Regional Nature Park, this charming village offers many facets - its ramparts, towered gateways, its belfry and its ancient keep - there are so many places to discover strolling through the old village, which has been the setting for several films, including "Le hussard sur le toit", "The Good Life" – starring Russell Crowe, as well as an episode of Bergerac, starring John Nettles.

 

Located in the Vaucluse, in the heart of the Grand Luberon, also called the Black Mountain,Cucuron is a Provencal village of 2000 inhabitants. Boasting 300 days of sunshine a year, Cucuron is a wonderful starting point for exploring the Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur region, famous for its festivals.

 

Milestones in the history of Cucuron.

 

There is known to have been a major prehistoric occupation in Cucuron. The name of Cucuron owes its origin to the location of the place, built on two hillocks: in Celtic: "cuc = hillock.

 

In Roman times, large agricultural settlements occupied the whole of the land around Cucuron.

The occupation of the Middle Ages was located outside the current day village (999), at Castellas and Guet. The village of Cucuron dates from 1004. It was then located on St Michel hill, known as «the Castrum».


In the thirteenth century the village grew, extended outside the walls and the church of Notre-Dame de Beaulieu became the parish church. Over the following centuries, the population of Cucuron increased and in 1719 reached 3000. The plague of 1720 destroyed a third of the population.

The rural exodus and the 1914 war accentuated the depopulation of the village.

 

Since the 60s, the village has attracted new residents thanks to its quality of life.

 

 

Tourist office

OFFICE DE TOURISME DE CUCURON VAUGINES - COURS POURRIERES - 84160 CUCURON
Tel. : ++ 33 (0) 4 90 77 28 37 or ++33 (0) 9 71 56 65 23 - officetourisme.cucuron@gmail.com